Scottish Strategic Archaeology Committee

Remit (revised 2016)

The Scottish Strategic Archaeology Committee was formed in 2013 following a review of the Archaeology function at Historic Scotland.

The Scottish Strategic Archaeology Committee (SSAC) will be an informal group, representing key partners / interests, to help with the development and delivery of Scotland’s Archaeology Strategy.

Community excavation Pailbe
Community excavation, Loch Phaibeil (copyright Tom Dawson)


The aims of the SSAC are to:

  1. Help create, promote and deliver Scotland’s Archaeology Strategy
  2. Offer advice and guidance to the Archaeology Team within Historic Environment Scotland
  3. Represent key areas of expertise in the sector


Key areas to be supported by the Committee include:

  • Development and promotion of Scotland’s Archaeology Strategy
    • Development of a regularly updated implementation plan
    • Oversight of delivery
  • Discussion of timescales, funding and priorities for areas to be addressed


  1. The SSAC will include members with expertise in the following key areas:
  • Archaeological Science
  • Commercial Archaeology
  • Community / Voluntary Archaeology
  • Education and Archaeology
  • Land Management
  • Local Authority Archaeology
  • Marine Archaeology
  • Museums (including the National Museums Scotland)
  • The Professional Institution (Chartered Institute for Archaeologists)
  • University Archaeology
  • Others as deemed appropriate
  1. There will be links to the Scottish Archaeological Research Framework (ScARF), and also to the Built Environment Forum Scotland (BEFS) when appropriate. Committee members can represent multiple areas on the committee. Others will be invited to attend as necessary, particularly representatives of relevant working groups.
  1. Committee members will serve 4 year terms – although the first group of committee members will serve between 2-5 years to ensure that there isn’t a sudden change of membership 4 years after starting. Members will only serve one term to ensure regular change of personnel and dynamism to the committee.

The Chair will come from within the committee but not be a member of HES staff. HES will provide necessary administrative support to the Chair.

  1. The group will aim to meet three times a year.
  1. The minutes will be made available on the SAS website –


The Group will consider its progress against its remit and report to the Chief Executive of HES on an annual basis, recognising HES’s lead role in the delivery of Our Place in Time. It will liaise with the relevant groups of Going Further as necessary.

The members of the Committee are as follows:

Area of expertise Name Title Organisation Date to leave Committee
Archaeological Science / University Archaeology Dr Kate Britton Lecturer Aberdeen University 2022
Commercial Archaeology Vacant
Commercial Archaeology Kirsty Dingwall Project Manager Headland Archaeology / FAME 2022
Commercial Archaeology Dr Andy Heald

(Committee Chair)

Director AOC Archaeology 2023
Community / Voluntary Ailsa Smith Volunteer Archaeologist Association of Certified Field Archaeologists 2024
Education and Archaeology Jane Miller Learning Officer Archaeology Scotland 2023
Land Management Vacant
Local Authority Archaeology Andrew Robertson Archaeology & Heritage Officer East Lothian Council / ALGAO 2025
Marine & Maritime Archaeology Dr Jon Henderson Chancellor’s Fellow in Global Challenges University of Edinburgh 2024
Museums Dr Sharon Webb Director & Curator of Archaeology Kilmartin Museum 2024
Museums Galleries Scotland Devon McHugh Senior Partnerships Manager Museums Galleries Scotland 2025
National Museums Scotland Dr Fraser Hunter Principal Curator of Prehistoric & Roman Archaeology National Museums Scotland 2022
Skills and Training Kate Geary (& Cara Jones) Head of Professional Development Institute for Archaeologists 2023
University Archaeology Covered by Kate Britton
Young Person Edward Stewart Student University of Glasgow 2022
ScARF Helen Spencer ScARF Project Director Society of Antiquaries of Scotland 2023
HES Archaeology Dr Rebecca Jones Head of Heritage Recording & Archaeology Historic Environment Scotland

In addition, others may be invited to attend as appropriate.

The Committee would like to thank the following former members:

Bruce Mann
Aberdeenshire Council
Derek Alexander
Head of Archaeology
National Trust Scotland
Thomas Rees
Consultant Archaeologist
Rathmell Archaeology / Federation of Archaeological Managers & Employers (FAME)
Jacob O’Sullivan
Collections & Engagement Manager
Museums Galleries Scotland
Peter Connelly
Northlight Heritage / FAME
Dr Jennifer Thoms
Learning Officer
Archaeology Scotland
Professor Stephen Driscoll
Professor of Historical Archaeology
University of Glasgow
Dr Mark Hall
History Officer
Perth Museum & Art Gallery
Peter Hinton
Chief Executive
Institute for Archaeologists
Dr Simon Gilmour
Society of Antiquaries of Scotland
Eila Macqueen
Archaeology Scotland
Robin Turner
Head of Survey & Recording
Historic Environment Scotland
Dr Val Turner
Shetland Archaeologist
Shetland Amenity Trust
Dr Katie Stevenson
Keeper of Scottish History & Archaeology
National Museums Scotland
Susan Kruse
Project Officer
Archaeology for Communities in the Highlands (ARCH)
Matt Ritchie
Forestry Commission
Dr Chris Bowles
Archaeology Officer
Scottish Borders Council
Dr Alan Leslie
Northlight Heritage
Rod McCullagh
Deputy Head of Archaeology Strategy
Historic Environment Scotland
Dr Karen Milek
Senior Lecturer
Aberdeen University
Simon Stronach
Former Senior Associate Director
CgMS Consulting
Luke Wormald
Strategic Policy Manager
CHED, Scottish Government



2022 January – April – July – October (coming soon)

2021 April – June – October

2020 February – May – September

2019 February – May – October

2018 January – March – June – October

2017 February – May – October

2016 January – May – October

2015 March – July – October

2014 March – June – December

2013 October